Let's keep in touch with CY Advanced Studies

16.04.2020 - 30.04.2020

In the framework of the Guest Lectures, international scientists staying at the university are invited to present their research work  with a strong emphasis on cross-cutting issues as well as on scientific and social challenges.

During the lockdown, CY Advanced Studies offers online Guest Lectures and seminars!

A first e-Guest Lecture will be held on Thursday 30th April 2020, at 5:00 pm.

It will be given in English by Professor Robert Lustig, University of California San Francisco and Fellow-in-Residence at CY Advanced Studies, on the topic of:

“The secret to wellness is identifying the illness"

Keynote - Over the past 50 years, society has seen the explosion of obesity, diabetes, fatty liver disease, cancer, and dementia. Likewise we have seen an marked increase in addiction, depression, anxiety, inattention, and hate. Do these exist in a vacuum? Or are they somehow related, and if so, how? The Guest Lecture will address contemporary issues of chronic disease, pertaining to the overlaps of metabolic, mental, and societal health worldwide.

Speaker: Dr. Robert Lustig is Emeritus Professor of Pediatrics and Member of the Institute for Health Policy Studies at the University of California San Francisco. His research in neuroendocrinology focuses on nutrition and energy metabolism, and how dysfunction leads to non-communicable disease. Dr. Lustig is the author of many academic works, and of the popular books “Fat Chance: Beating the Odds Against Sugar, Processed Food, Obesity, and Disease”, the “Fat Chance Cookbook”, and “The Hacking of the American Mind: The Science Behind the Corporate Takeover of our Bodies and Brains”. A new book, "Fat, Pharma, Feds, Fiasco" is due out in March 2021.

 

To attend the online event:

Join Zoom Meeting at 8am PDT; 11am EDT; 5pm CET
https://zoom.us/j/97766754091?pwd=dElvZXF5clZtQjZRTEJ2L3ptTFRTUT09
Meeting ID: 977 6675 4091
Password: 552396